Posted in Uncategorized

Woman Crush Wednesday-Bongeka Cele

Bongeka

Bongeka Cele is a close friend of mine. She has an Honours Degree in Supply chain management and is currently doing a Masters in Commerce. She is an outspoken leader, brilliant writer and has big dreams of impacting the country in the supply chain sector. I asked her to share a few insights on her journey after university.

  • What did you study in University and is it in line with your career goals?

  • I studied supply chain management. What I studied is definitely in line with my career goals. I would like to be a supply chain professional and be able to consult with or work with government to start transforming the supply chains in our country. I really do believe that rectifying supply chain inefficiencies is one of the keys to unlocking the countries potential

  • What is the most important lesson you have learnt after graduating?  

  •  I think firstly one of the most important lessons is keep dreaming big,but also understand that most people will not understand you dreams,visions and goals and you need to be able to push past That. NEVER play small!!!It will not be in your favor.I think secondly, to understand you talents and development area’s and constantly endeavor to grow and close those gaps. Third, Map your life paths. Put down every single thing you want to achieve in life on paper.Then break it down into short,medium,long term. If you cant think of everything, just do the next 10 years. Review every year,you would be surprised at how much you push yourself based on your own expectations. Lastly Give yourself Grace. Do not compare yourself to other,but rather the best version of you. Even then be careful to give yourself some leeway.We are human after all.

  • What has been the most disappointing low after graduating ?  

  •  I think the most disappointing aspect that hit me after graduation,more than being unemployed the first year after graduating was the realization that my degree had not in any way shape or form really prepared me for corporate. I realized that I had A LOT of hard work before me and that being a director in 3 years was not really going to happen,but also that I didn’t really want it.

  • What has been the most incredible high in your career?    

  • This is a difficult question,because I generally thrive in an environment where I am learning and right now I am learning a lot. I think though I would probably say having the courage to resign, where I felt like I wasn’t growing or my environment was not fostering my growth. Lots of people stay at companies out of a “ maybe if I stay they will promote me”,that’s not always the case. As long as you don’t burn any bridges when you leave, always know when to leave.

  • Lastly what would be your advise to a graduate in their final year of study?          

  • My advice is 2 fold. 1. For those who have always been entrepreneurial- Don’t bother trying corporate, unless you have a very specific learning plan that you want to achieve at a company. I think the biggest mistake even among us graduates is we don’t encourage people, or support them when they say “I want to start a business”. We all love the notion of being a business owner, we project our aversion to risk as soon as someone tries. So to entrepreneurs out there. JUST DO IT! 2. To the rest of us. Understand that your career is always in your hands! Managers are also looking out for number one,so don’t get lost in the politics of “the business need”. Go for what will make you happy or at least help you to achieve your end goals! To all of us: Understand your purpose- WHAT ARE YOU HERE FOR?!What will the world say of you? What legacy will you leave?!

Author:

I am a young south african woman who is passionate about issues affecting graduates.

Leave a comment