Posted in Lessons

10 Year High school Reunion

Facebook posts and groups were created to discuss the celebration of our 10 year high school reunion. I couldn’t believe it had been ten years since I did my matric year and I couldn’t believe how different my life is from what I dreamt about back than. I thought by now I would have a car,house, a thriving career and a few established businesses however this is not the case. The temptation is to then classify myself as a failure however I have learnt crucial lessons over the years.

Here are 10 lessons I would tell the younger me dreaming of conquering the world.

  1. Ditch the timeline :  If you had a chat with the younger me she would tell you of a specific plan with specific deadlines on where she wanted to be in life. That younger me didn’t know that life sometimes does not go according to plan. One thing i have learnt is that the timeline should be a guideline and not a rule. When we focus so much on where we should be by now we miss out on where we are. There is nothing as dissatisfying as living a life in the future and missing the moment now.
  2. Accept mistakes: It is impossible to live a life without mistakes. We choose the wrong major; we choose the wrong job; we leave a job too early. All these things happen to most of us and for the longest time I thought mistakes were ruined everything. Like there was no going back on it. My mom said something that changed my life last year which was “This is the time for you to make mistakes”. Nothing is set in stone. You can always reset and reroute.
  3. Study: I was the crazy few who decided to go into the working world without a postgraduate qualification. The truth is this is one of the biggest mistakes one can make. Granted it is different in every industry but it really impacts how much you earn and how far you will grow. My advice to any undergraduate that comes to me for advise is to make sure you have more than an undergraduate degree. An extra year on campus is nothing compared to a few years of unemployment or below minimum wage salaries.
  4. Don’t compare : All of us are on different journeys. Some of us will find ourselves on a constant upward motion and some dont. Instead of spending our time looking over someone else green grass we need to cultivate our own.
  5. Watch your circle: The people around you will influence how far you go. I have been blessed with the best friends who always push me to go further than I think i can. Surround yourself with people who will grow you spiritually, emotionally and professionally.
  6. Keep dreaming : The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. –Eleanor Roosevelt
  7. Dont forget the people who have your back : I learnt this early in my life. Your closest friends and family are the people who will love you when you have nothing. No amount of degrees, cars and money can ever replace that love.
  8. Mentorship: Find yourself a mentor who will able to help you make strategic decisions regarding your career. Someone who can be able to ask you questions and keep you accountable in terms of your goals.
  9. Dont always follow the money: Some jobs are not profitable in terms of finances but they will provide character development to get to the next level.
  10. Trust God always : Through hard work, perseverance and a faith in God, you can live your dreams. Ben Carson

Author:

I am a young south african woman who is passionate about issues affecting graduates.

Leave a comment